Tug of War

The girls were happy because they won, and I was excited too! 

We had fun on the day of the tug of war, and it was Monday, the 9th of    October. We all had fun, but the boys didn’t. I really, really like tug of war.

First, we had to go and line up right next to the door, but then we had to go and sit back down because we ran to be lined up. But Mrs. Kumar said that she forgot the rope and told my classmates. 

Next, my teacher almost got the rope, so she said to my classmates to get it the names were Francis and William, and so when they got it we all had to line up right next to the door, and we turned to the left, and you had to go up on the concrete, and right next to the right, you will see a tennis court.  Then you have to keep going up and up, and then you will see the park, and at the back of the park is the field, and that is where we played. 

Then we had to get a line for the rope and a string to put in the middle of the rope and tie it. Once we found something, we tied it, and, by the way, it was a ripped sock. Once it was done, we had to do boys vs. girls. When they were between the girls and the boys, my teacher aid, Ms Lammas, said that we had to let it go because it was not even when we let it go that the rope looked like a snake that slithered slowly and fast.  So we all have to let go of the ropes; when they are even, we can hold them back up again. 

Finally, my teacher said, “Are we ready?” and we all said yes; my teacher said go girls, while Mrs. Kumar said go boys. While we were pulling, we had a strategy, and we had to lie back. When I said pull, we all pulled as hard as we could, and when the boys were on the line, they were the slippers. Mrs. Kumar said that the girls won one round. Once we were done, the girls started to scream like a little girl who was two years old.  The rope was long and skinny, like a tree branch. After we were done playing tug of war with my other classmates, Tupou was the one who took it back when we were done.

My classmates and I had so much fun playing tug of war on the field and it was exciting to play for the girls because the girls won the first and second rounds but it was not fair so we went in front of Ms. Lammas and the girls at the back and the boys in front and she picked us and we were mixed with boys and girls. Team One and Team Two were mixed with boys and girls Team Two was called Up the Wahs and Team 1 was called Team Power. Have you guys played tug of war with your classmates? 

By: Anamalia

2 thoughts on “Tug of War

  1. Kia ora, I’m Aaliyah from Glen Innes School.

    I enjoyed the part when you were describing what it was like when you were playing tug of war. You had no problem losing to team Up da Wahs and that your team was losing. I loved the detail you left in your writing. It is really good.

    Were you able to remember everything what you did for Tug of War when you were doing your writing?

    Do you think is there any other way you can make your writing more interesting?

  2. Kia ora,Ana I’m Skylar from glen innes school
    I Very liked the part when you added some cupitle letters in your pest of writing and big works and that.
    If I was you we were be the best teacher in the world
    I liked how you added some questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *